top of page
Search

With the Fire on High

Updated: Oct 21, 2020


I almost feel physically ill giving anything from Elizabeth Acevedo less than 4 stars, but this one just didn't do it for me - no matter how hard I tried to love it. I felt like the plot was sort of MIA... Also, I had a hard time liking the protagonist, Emoni. For someone who is constantly being judged (or assumes she is), she sure was quick to judge everyone. Also, every problem Emoni faces is resolved way too easily and quickly, there never was any real conflict. For example, she is a teen mom living with her abuela who's only income is her disability checks - yet she still manages to go to a good high school; afford daycare for her daughter; food (including ingredients to make some pretty fancy recipes - no top ramen here), shelter and clothing for the three of them; money for her trip to Spain; and then admission to a good college. Also, she totally blows off and is completely rude to the new cute guy - but still gets him anyway. For someone who was presented as a severely flawed character with limited opportunities (Afro-Latinx teen mom living in Phillie with her grandmother) there seemed to be zero struggle and Emoni was just flooded with all the opportunities... As someone who had her first daughter at somewhat of a young age (19), there were some things I had to give up even with a husband, family, etc. So I had a bigger support system, yet I still had to put off working and going to college to take care of my daughter. It just didn't seem authentic to me, life is never that easy.

I also was a little bummed that the Spain portion of the book seemed so quick and rushed through. I was expecting to be transported to Spain via all the senses, but was just left with... blah.

However, I did like the Afro-Latinx teen mom rep (just wish it was a bit more credible) and LGBTQ rep. I also liked that Malachi was presented as a sweet, supportive and respectful boyfriend/friend. I'm a bit of a foodie (okay, I'm a lot of a foodie!) and some of the food descriptions had my mouth watering (yum!). So I enjoyed that, as well as the few added bonus recipes.

As much as it hurts me, I just can't give this title more than

** 2 Stars** :/

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page